Call for Expressions of Interest: Community-based social innovations for older people to identify case study sites in middle-income countries

The World Health Organization Centre for Health Development (WHO Kobe Centre – WKC) and RAND Europe would like to invite expressions of interest for the identification of case-studies on community-based social innovations (CBSIs) that support older people in middle-income countries (MICs).

Deadline for submission: 31 December 2016

What are CBSIs?

Community-based social innovations (CBSIs) are initiatives that seek to empower older people to improve self-efficacy in caring for themselves and their peers, maintain well-being and promote social cohesion and inclusiveness. They can also help older people to access, understand and navigate health and social care systems. While they have the potential to improve care and autonomy for older people, as well as transform healthcare systems, more evidence is needed on CBSIs to improve our understanding of best practices and service delivery models that engage communities and span a spectrum of health and social services.

What CBSIs are we interested in?

We are interested in community-based initiatives aimed at improving health and well-being among older people at a community level. These may include initiatives implemented in a community with older people at the centre of the initiative, aiming to assist older persons to increase autonomy and to maintain or enhance their health and quality-of-life for as long as possible. These could also be run by the older persons themselves. We are looking for a broad range of such initiatives to select from.

Of particular interest are CBSIs in the following countries:

Europe and Central Asia (WHO European Region)

Albania, Armenia, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Georgia, Latvia (2012)*, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Republic of Moldova, Montenegro, Romania, Russian Federation (2012)*, Serbia, Turkey, Ukraine

East and South Asia

China, Viet Nam (WHO Western Pacific Region)

Sri Lanka, Thailand (WHO South-East Asia Region)

The Middle East and Africa

Iran (Islamic Republic of), Lebanon, Tunisia (WHO Eastern Mediterranean Region) Mauritius (WHO African Region)

The Americas (WHO Region of the Americas)

Central and Latin America

Argentina (2012)*, Brazil, Chile (2012)*, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Panama, Uruguay (2012)*

The Caribbean

Jamaica, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Dominica, Grenada

* While changes to the World Bank middle-income countries classification were made in 2012. we welcome applications from these countries as well.

Follow the link to the WHO Kobe Centre Site for more information.